Achievements‎ > ‎

Schools Physicist of the Year Award 2016

posted 12 Aug 2016, 01:02 by Nat Admin   [ updated 21 Sep 2016, 05:45 ]

Photo by 
Dario Scovacricchi.

Massive congratulations to Daisy McVicar, Year 10, who was presented with an Ogden Schools Physicist of the Year (SPOTY) award at the University of Portsmouth on 13 July.

She was nominated by Mrs Foot and Mrs Allen in our Science Department. They said:

“Daisy is an extremely hardworking and conscientious individual who has shown, throughout the year, that she has a natural aptitude for Science.  She is a pleasure to teach and has a good relationship with both staff and her peers. We look forward to seeing her skills in Science develop further and expect her to excel in Physics, and Science in general, in the future”

The awards are a national initiative sponsored by The Ogden Trust, with additional support for the Portsmouth event from the South East Physics Network (SEPnet) and the University of Portsmouth. The Ogden Trust promotes the teaching and learning of Physics using a variety of initiatives.

Year 10 and 12 students from schools across Hampshire were named Portsmouth SPOTY winners, including two from the Isle of Wight. Dr Jen Gupta, the Ogden/SEPnet Outreach Officer at the University of Portsmouth said “The annual Schools Physicist of the Year awards is one of the highlights of our schools outreach programme and it’s brilliant to be able to celebrate the achievements of so many talented young physicists. All of our SPOTY award winners should be proud of their achievements so far, and we can’t wait to see where physics takes them in the future!”

Daisy, her parents and Mrs Allen travelled to the University of Portsmouth for the awards ceremony where Daisy and the other winners each received a certificate and a £25 book token.

Last year Aaron Gould, the in Year 9, was also presented with the award.